HVAC Site - Professional HVAC Contractors Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a service manager I often wonder if we are the only ones that can't find quality servie techs that are not on drugs, stupid, or focused on Friday happy hour.

The HVAC industry really needs some young blood to take a serious interest in the trade.

·
Registered
26 Posts
First of all, I would think a "quality" service tech on drugs or stupid, is a mutually exclusive situation: he's either a quality tech or he's a druggy or he's lacking in mental prowess. And most everybody working for wages, looks forward to the hours they don't have to work.

I wouldn't disagree with the lopsided ratio of competent techs to less-than-competent techs. But the only way techs can become competent is through several years of work experience. But they can't get the experience because they can't get a job...because they don't have any experience. :001_unsure: It's the Catch-22 syndrome. :blink:

There is also a problem stemming from some service company owners who are not "investing" in the training of existing employees. For that matter, there are plenty of service company owners who aren't "quality" techs...it's the blind leading the blind.

And needless to say, the pay scales in some areas are anything but enticing for the "young bloods" considering a career in the trade.

I don't totally disagree with your premise...but one thing for sure, if we want the young blood to take a serious interest in the HVAC trade, the trade will have to take a serious interest in the young blood.

·
Banned
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Saturatedpsi

I agree with the majority of your reply but I have come to the conclusion that the problem with the lack of good help is more of a generational problem.