HVAC Site - Professional HVAC Contractors Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Whiting Services
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm an HVAC/R contractor new to this site. I need some quick advice and hopefully somebody can help me out. I normally operate in the city on smaller row homes. But I have a house in the subburbs I'm trying to bid on. It's for a couple of real estate investors/ flippers. It's a 2000 sq. ft, older two-story . Mostly stone and brick. They are turning the 3rd floor addict into two bedrooms. (adding 500 sq. ft.). Currently the house has a Hydronic Nat. gas. boiler. A 140kbtu input 80% weil-mcclane. Looks like its in good shape. Maybe 7 years old. NO A/C in the house. They want AC installed.. My thoughts are to switch over to forced hot air, since I would be installing ducted A/C in the house anyway.
As for cooling. In the city I normally estimate 1 ton of refrigeration per 400 sq.ft. since the homes are usually pretty old. I know newer homes you can go to 500 and up. This house is pretty old, not well insulated (although the addict will be insulated well after rehab). At that rate per btu, the house would need 6.2 tons of A/C. Seems like alot to me. Can I even get a 6 ton residential unit? I thought they only go to 5. Could I get away with a 5 ton?
As for heat, The biggest unit I can get is 110kbtu output. (Goodman)
will that handle 2500 sq.ft? the chart I have for this area says 2000-2500 sq ft. needs 102kbtu output. (philadelphia area). I think the 110kbtu could handle it, but I'm worried about the cooling. I dont think 5 tons would be enough. Does anybody have any thoughts on this?
I'm trying to avoid doing a full load calculation on the house ( i usually pay an engineer to do it), I only had a short window at the residence and I want to get these guys a quote fast. But I can't even figure out the design yet