FAU we installed in attic

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2009, 12:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
pcplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default

FAU we installed in attic


This was a conversion from a floor furnace to an FAU in an attic. I was impressed with how my employees hung the furnace rather than placing in on the ceiling rafters, how straight and neat my employees made the ducts, we also installed the electric with EMT and a pull-down ladder.

We used Rheem furnaces for about 30 years and had many problems with every furnace. We had to remove and replace many Rheem furnaces because the circuit boards kept burning out, they vibrated too much, and the velocity of the air flow was too high. We started installing Ducane furnaces about 5 years ago, installed about 200 of them and have never put a screwdrive on one, yet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 65 (Small).JPG (56.2 KB, 28 views)


Last edited by pcplumber; 03-15-2009 at 12:48 PM.
pcplumber is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. HVACSite.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-23-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
protech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


How many tons is that unit?
protech is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 01:51 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
pcplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


The Ducanes we are putting in are 2-1/2 ton without air and 4 ton with air.
pcplumber is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:00 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
hector's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac tech
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


nice looking job.. We would have to install a pan under the entire unit with float switch/ drain incase condensate drain were to stop up
hector is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 12:33 AM   #5
Member
 
hvactech's Avatar
 
Trade: commercial/residential HVAC service/installation 20+years
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MI
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to hvactech Send a message via Yahoo to hvactech
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


Same here in MI cant install Hvac units in attics w/o drain pan! But it looks like a good install job!
hvactech is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:55 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
munshin's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac apprentice
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Middletown, De.
Posts: 3
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


Yes, It looks good and clean.... Nice job....We also need a drain pan under such installation out here as well. Like the duct wrap job, not sloppy. Pride in work. munshin
munshin is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 01:38 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
JamesKarnes's Avatar
 
Trade: Duct fitting manufacturer
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


Have you tried the DuraTite Quick Connect Start Collars? www.DuraTite.com
JamesKarnes is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:06 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
coolmen's Avatar
 
Trade: contractor
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


Without the drain pan and pipeing, safty switch. this is not complete and accident waiting to happen.
coolmen is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 11:58 AM   #9
Semi electrician
 
mechanicalDvr's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC tech
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 250
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


The duct work is ok, not a big fan of all that flex. Is the furnace plugged into an outlet for the power connection? In an attic or not the gas line should have a drip leg in it. Inspectors in my area frown on mixing galvanized fittings with black pipe as well. The flex is long and looks a little DIY also to me. As for the condensate pan, I don't see a coil so why would he need a pan? Is it correct to assume there is half as much return as supply?

Last edited by mechanicalDvr; 07-21-2009 at 12:01 PM.
mechanicalDvr is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 04:53 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
josephsiaq's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumber, gasfitter, burner tech
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Western MA
Posts: 4
Default

Re: FAU we installed in attic


Looks like a neat job, I'm not sure what state this is in but the bubble wrap doesn't offer much insulation value. In MA, we would have to use R-8 insulation. To the person who pointed out that there is no drip leg- a drip leg should never be installed in a location that could freeze. I do agree that it doesn't look like a lot of return. "You can only push out what you can pull in"
josephsiaq is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1