Converting R22 systems to R410A

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2012, 06:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Koppertone's Avatar
 
Trade: Air Conditioning Maintence
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Question

Converting R22 systems to R410A


I read a articular that was posted about converting system from R22 to R410A .Where they talking about replacing the meting device in the air handler or the evaporator coil & if so, where did they find a device for 410A? Also how much changes has there been from R22 systems to the
R410A systems, 3 phase 208\230 volt ?

Koppertone is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. HVACSite.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-27-2013, 09:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 866
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


They're using a R410A condenser. the indoor metering device is what ever size piston the condenser calls for, or a R410A TXV. Voltage is what ever the building has. R410A units come in the same voltages as R22 condensers did.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 07:17 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Koppertone's Avatar
 
Trade: Air Conditioning Maintence
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
They're using a R410A condenser. the indoor metering device is what ever size piston the condenser calls for, or a R410A TXV. Voltage is what ever the building has. R410A units come in the same voltages as R22 condensers did.
Thanks for the feed back. Can I purchase a metering device & make my own conversion?
Koppertone is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 866
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


yes. Done fairly often.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 10:42 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Koppertone's Avatar
 
Trade: Air Conditioning Maintence
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
yes. Done fairly often.
Have you try Freon 421A, as a alternative to R22?
Koppertone is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 10:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 866
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


Quote:
Originally Posted by Koppertone View Post
Have you try Freon 421A, as a alternative to R22?
No I haven't.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 10:57 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Koppertone's Avatar
 
Trade: Air Conditioning Maintence
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


What about other Freons for drop-ins for R22?
Koppertone is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 11:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 866
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


NU 22B, but still has a 5% capacity loss. So don't like it for units there were sized right. haven't tried MO99 yet, and probably won't since it too has a capacity loss.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 11:03 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Koppertone's Avatar
 
Trade: Air Conditioning Maintence
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


OK thanks
Koppertone is offline  
Old 04-01-2014, 12:13 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
airtrackinc's Avatar
 
Trade: airtrackinc
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 26
Default

Re: Converting R22 systems to R410A


Sound like, they taking about metering device (TX valve , capillary or piston ) type device, this R410 devices are specifically design to handle high pressure.
as for the converting from R22 to R410 its very expensive work , all depend on the system capacity if the system less then 10Ton it cheaper to replace complete system.
airtrackinc is offline  

Tags
converting, hvac, r22, r410a, systems


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R410a acoil and R22 condenser nooche General HVAC Discussion 1 08-18-2013 08:11 AM
R22 replacement Maxwell HVAC Commercial HVAC Forum 3 05-24-2013 06:03 PM
R410A to R-22 sorefoot Commercial HVAC Forum 24 03-22-2013 07:10 PM
using r410a daventx64 General HVAC Discussion 2 07-22-2012 04:32 PM
converting a coil from r410 to r22? 4ton Residential HVAC Forum 2 10-20-2011 10:14 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1