Goodman AC replacement question

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 04:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
AccuGreenHP's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC/ Efficiency Improvements
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman AC replacement question


Hey everyone... I'm usually over on ContractorTalk, but this seems like it's the place to be, so let me ask here:

I have a customer who was flooded during hurricane Sandy. They have two complete Goodman systems. The outdoor units were flooded with salt water, so obviously they need to be replaced. I quoted the customer to replace JUST the outdoor units, but now he's telling me that he got another quote that was replacing the outdoor unit and the indoor coil?

Why would the indoor coil need to be replaced? My supply house checked that the new outdoor unit is compatible with the furnace. Am I missing something here? Should I be replacing the indoor coil as well?

Thanks in advance for your help!

AccuGreenHP is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. HVACSite.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-11-2013, 10:37 AM   #2
Member
 
linebacker's Avatar
 
Trade: Air condition sales & service
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


We need more information. Age, freon, insurance, grant money?
linebacker is offline  
Old 01-14-2013, 11:55 PM   #3
Member
 
scooter's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential,light commericial hvac +
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saginaw, MI.
Posts: 57
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


Accugreenhp
What is you background in residential cooling systems?
scooter is offline  
Old 02-23-2013, 07:10 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
GeoAlex's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampabay
Posts: 5
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


most likely to match to the condenser. my bad I see they are matched. I should have comprehended what I read :-)

Last edited by GeoAlex; 02-23-2013 at 07:11 PM. Reason: comprehension
GeoAlex is offline  
Old 02-23-2013, 09:12 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
brian p's Avatar
 
Trade: refrigeration
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


if someone wants to replace indoor AND outdoor "cond.unit+coil" it's because they want to convert to 410a. If it were me, I would hose down the outside unit with fresh water, change the contactor, let it dry and fire it up. If the fan motor is bad, change it out. But you would be a hero. A hermetically sealed compressor doesn't care if its been under water or not. As long as the terminals are dry it'll run.
brian p is offline  
Old 02-24-2013, 11:15 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
STANCILHVAC's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AccuGreenHP View Post
Hey everyone... I'm usually over on ContractorTalk, but this seems like it's the place to be, so let me ask here:

I have a customer who was flooded during hurricane Sandy. They have two complete Goodman systems. The outdoor units were flooded with salt water, so obviously they need to be replaced. I quoted the customer to replace JUST the outdoor units, but now he's telling me that he got another quote that was replacing the outdoor unit and the indoor coil?

Why would the indoor coil need to be replaced? My supply house checked that the new outdoor unit is compatible with the furnace. Am I missing something here? Should I be replacing the indoor coil as well?

Thanks in advance for your help!
22 system or 410A??---seer rating of old system??
STANCILHVAC is offline  
Old 03-04-2013, 03:01 PM   #7
Best HVAC Parts and Goods
 
Ingram's water & Air's Avatar
 
Trade: Ingram's Water And Air Equipment
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bridge Stree, Paducha - KY
Posts: 9
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AccuGreenHP View Post

Why would the indoor coil need to be replaced? My supply house checked that the new outdoor unit is compatible with the furnace. Am I missing something here? Should I be replacing the indoor coil as well?

Thanks in advance for your help!
If he was using R22 Condenser and he needs to replace the indoor coil too.

The New R410 oil does not mix with R22. If he can buy a R22 condenser (Which is no longer in use) He can replace only the condenser. Otherwise he needs to replace the indoor coil as well.
Ingram's water & Air is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 10:21 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Superdave1's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 19
Default

Re: Goodman AC replacement question


Switch refrigerant and also get 10yr warr??
Superdave1 is offline  

Tags
goodman, replacement


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R22 Replacement Maxwell HVAC HVAC Material and Products 7 12-11-2013 05:38 PM
R22 Replacement Maxwell HVAC Residential HVAC Forum 18 05-16-2013 07:47 PM
Boiler replacement Dennis Harbison General HVAC Discussion 1 08-17-2011 02:52 AM
Replacement for a TAC T155-010 GregoryV Residential HVAC Forum 6 05-18-2011 12:54 PM
Furnace replacement New Age Hvac HVAC Pictures 0 09-17-2010 07:32 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1