Are You Wasting Your Money On Google AdWords? - Business, Marketing, and Sales - HVACSite

Are You Wasting Your Money On Google AdWords?

Old 03-25-2014, 02:21 PM   #1

Trade: HVAC

Are You Wasting Your Money On Google AdWords?

I've been doing Adwords for my HVAC site for 10 years. Looking back, I can't tell you how much money I wasted in the early years. For the last 7-8 years or so it has worked out for me extremely well. Here's a few critical mistakes we all make in the beginning. Fix these and your ROI will improve dramatically:

Sending paid search traffic to your home page - Doing this can negatively affect both your conversion rate and your AdWords quality score. Send users to the most relevant section of your website to ensure the conversion process is as easy as possible.

Competing for too many keywords - 80% of your conversions are created by just 20% of your keywords. The rest are a waste of time, energy, and money. Unproductive Keywords deplete your monthly budget but provide no tangible ROI. Finding the most effective keywords is as simple as using conversion tracking, a hugely critical component to adwords success.

Competing for the top spot when your budget won’t allow it – Many advertisers like to see their ad show up in the number one or two positions when someone types in a system replacement or demand service inquiry. That’ s well and good if you have a budget that allows it, but most HVAC business owners are simply undermining their ability to reach as many shoppers as possible. Instead, focus your attention on qualified traffic and conversions.

Out of time for now but I will post 3 more ways to improve your adwords results tomorrow.

best to all

Last edited by michaelhaines; 03-25-2014 at 02:25 PM.