HVAC Site - Professional HVAC Contractors Forum banner

Question for you pros, I'd like to know your opinion...

2K views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  Upton O Good 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm new to HVAC. Not just this site, HVAC in general. The methods and equipment, and the technical discipline fascinate me. Over the past few months I've developed a real interest. I've studied for the EPA test and will easily pass it next weekend. I've read many sites and watched videos to learn all I can about methods.

But, I'm not looking to be a contractor, just a humble homeowner do-it-yourselfer. That's the rub, and what I'd like to ask your opinion about.

Wholesale supply houses generally dont like to sell to DIY guys, and I understand why. They end up answering endless questions, and when the guy F's it up he tries to return stuff. Plus the supply house needs to please their big customers, the contractors, who dont like being undercut by some smarty-pants with a gauge set.

Besides that, its not economically wise for me to do all my own HVAC work. All the tools of the trade add up to $2000-3000. So why do it?

First, because it's in my nature. I've studied physics, electrical engineering, and a fair amount of mechanical engineering as well. I'm familiar with the Carnot graph of entropy. When I discover a new technology, I'm driven to fully understand it. It's like when you cant put down a good book, that's how I am with technology and new knowledge. (Imagine growing up with this kind of curiosity and no google. Yes I blew some things up.)

On a professional basis, I do R&D of very high-power microwave systems. They often dissipate tens of 1000s of watts, and we need new ways of cooling them. I'd like to try some of the exotic R's and design some special-purpose or custom systems. The ability to buy equipment and supplies will open all kinds of doors for my designs.