The Variable Speed Blower

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 06:54 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 844
Default

The Variable Speed Blower


Why didn't the manufacturers, do more research, before they came up with that name for it.

Its a misguiding name.

Some customers think it means they can control the speed from the thermostat.

Some contractors think it means the motor will speed up indefinately untill it moves the set CFM.

What would you have named it, if you were given the responsibitlity for giving a name to it.

__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. HVACSite.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-20-2009, 09:17 AM   #2
North of 52
 
Yuri's Avatar
 
Trade: furnace and air conditioner repair
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 122
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


I would call it a Constant Velocity Blower. It maintains constant velocity(static pressure) unless the filter gets extremely plugged up or the ducts are grossly undersized in which case it will cavitate/hunt. I have never had any customers get confused about it and we have sold thousands of them. I usually tell my customers it is a high efficiency motor which uses 80 watts on low speed and show them the huge energy savings vs a PSC motor and they buy it for that reason.
Yuri is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:29 AM   #3
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


I like Constant Velocity Motor

I also like Comfort and Efficiency Motor.
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


VS works for me. When you explain what the VS does to the HO he knows it's not your standars PSC motor.

The name VS is just fine.
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow

Last edited by hvaclover; 06-21-2009 at 11:41 AM.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:39 AM   #5
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


There's always a buzz killer in the crowd

How about Super Duper Better Then What You Have Now Motor?
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Sorry i killed your Buzz.

Will a million dollars make you happy?
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


You could call it the Blow Hard Motor.
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow

Last edited by hvaclover; 06-21-2009 at 12:57 PM.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:49 AM   #8
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Sorry i killed your Buzz.

Will a million dollars make you happy?
Well, ok
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:50 AM   #9
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You cold call it the Blow Hard Motor.
This is the best one yet.
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:59 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Originally Posted by hvaclover
Sorry i killed your Buzz.

Will a million dollars make you happy?

Well, ok


Yeah a cool mill would work form me too.

Check's in the mail. Don't cash right away, I post dated it 'til 2300
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 11:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 844
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Or, the motor more techs will condemn when there is nothing wrong with it motor.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 12:45 PM   #12
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Or, the motor more techs will condemn when there is nothing wrong with it motor.
Ain't that the truth!
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 12:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


never condemned one yet
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 01:04 PM   #14
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
never condemned one yet
So, you're the one
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 01:30 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Ok I give..what is it you feel I should be informed of O GREAT ONE?
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 05:30 PM   #16
Tech./Sales Consultant
 
RoBoTeq's Avatar
 
Trade: H-VAC Consulting
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 609
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Ok I give..what is it you feel I should be informed of O GREAT ONE?
Not you, all of the rest. I was being fasicious to all of the others who swear that VS motors have nothing but problems when I know, and evidently you do too, that most issues occurring with VS motors is not the motors fault.

Sorry I didn't make myself clearer. I was complimenting you as being the "one" who doesn't have issues. Am I still the Great One?
RoBoTeq is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 07:08 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: burbs of detroit
Posts: 599
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Your one of the more informed guys I know so i guess the title fits
__________________
Not Stupid, Just slow
hvaclover is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 07:59 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
comp's Avatar
 
Trade: union
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: in.
Posts: 2
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
There's always a buzz killer in the crowd

How about Super Duper Better Then What You Have Now Motor?

I like it
comp is offline  
Old 12-21-2011, 09:54 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
COLD 1's Avatar
 
Trade: Service Tech
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Or, the motor more techs will condemn when there is nothing wrong with it motor.

How can you misdiagnose it if it doesn't work until you put a new one in...here in FLA. with all our lightning...it seems we are always changing them out after power failures.
COLD 1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2011, 01:49 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 844
Default

Re: The Variable Speed Blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD 1 View Post
How can you misdiagnose it if it doesn't work until you put a new one in...here in FLA. with all our lightning...it seems we are always changing them out after power failures.
easy. they condemn it, without checking to see if its just the module that is bad. Which 90% of the time. It is just the module that is bad, and not the motor.


They make testers for VS ECM motors.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1