SMAN4 Reviews ? - HVAC Tools and Equipment - HVACSite

SMAN4 Reviews ?

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 02:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
richerich's Avatar
 
Trade: Apartment HVAC Tech
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 1
Default

SMAN4 Reviews ?


Hello, this is my very first interaction/posting.
Please forgive me if my formatt is not up to par.
I have an old manafold set and I am very interested in the new SMAN4, has anyone had any interaction with this of late?
What can you tell me before I drop between $460 - $700 on it?
I have been searching but reviews are scarace.

Thanks in advance and I am looking forward to your help.


Last edited by richerich; 07-31-2013 at 09:30 AM.
richerich is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. HVACSite.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-31-2013, 07:47 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Thick1's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


I don't have a set myself, however a few of the techs at our shop have them and say they work great minus the micron gauge.
Thick1 is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 09:04 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Patrick Eubanks's Avatar
 
Trade: Patrick Eubanks
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 252-753-4914
Posts: 7
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


I have a new set arriving via UPS this afternoon. I ordered it because of the stories of superb customer service from other owners. If fieldpiece will stand behind their product, well that's all you can ask for I guess. I will let you know how I like it in a few weeks.
Patrick Eubanks is offline  
Old 12-21-2013, 08:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 882
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


So how do you like it so far.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 12-26-2013, 10:09 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Patrick Eubanks's Avatar
 
Trade: Patrick Eubanks
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 252-753-4914
Posts: 7
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


So far they are OK. The are big and heavy. You wouldn't want to carry them daily. I have also found a huge discrepancy between my supco vacuum gage and the one built into the sman4. Once they get down to around 500 microns, they get a little closer. I also experienced a problem with them during a start-up. I had just pulled a deep vacuum, released the charge and started to adjust the pressures. The gages acted as if there was something stuck in the vacuum position. I brought the subcooling up to proper range and noticed the compressor was noisy. I unhooked the gages and then reattached to discover the unit was drastically overcharged. Im not sure if it was in the gages or possibly the charging ports.
They look great and seem to be well made. It is sure impressive to the homeowner or plant manager that wants to look over your shoulder during repairs or start-ups. The temperature clamps seem to work great. I have double checked them and they are accurate thus far. If they continue to perform well I will probably drop some coin on the wireless accessories. I just want to be a little more confident in them before spending a lot more money. They aren't getting a proper work-out as of late as most of our heating around here is done with gas. I am spending most of my days replacing hot surface ignitors and pressure switches. Come spring I'll let you know if they continue to perform OK.
Patrick Eubanks is offline  
Old 12-26-2013, 05:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: Service/Installation
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 882
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


Thanks.
__________________
How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?
beenthere is offline  
Old 01-11-2016, 06:10 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
tech24services's Avatar
 
Trade: detectswaterleaks Company
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA Wahington DC
Posts: 21
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


Thank you for this topic
tech24services is offline  
Old 05-19-2016, 06:41 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
andreeakamaras's Avatar
 
Trade: 02020
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 21
Default

Re: SMAN4 Reviews ?


thanks Patrick
andreeakamaras is offline  


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?

 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1